Kaluga Region was formed on July 5, 1944, and now it’s a part of the Central Federal District.

The regional center is Kaluga.
The distance between Kaluga and Moscow is 188 km .
Area is 29.800 sq. km or 0.17% of the Russian Federation.
Administrative and territorial structure of Kaluga Region:

  • Urban districts — 2;
  • Municipal districts — 24;
  • Urban settlements — 28;
  • Rural settlements — 258.

Kaluga Region is located in the center of the East European Plain, in the Upper Oka and Desna rivers basins. KR borders on the Troitsky Administrative District of Moscow, with Moscow, Tula, Bryansk, Smolensk and Oryol Regions.

KR stretches from north to south for more than 220 km . There are most important railway lines: Moscow — Kiev, Donbass — St. Petersburg, Syzran — Vyazma, Michurinsk — Smolensk. It helps to carry out both local and long-distance transit connections of Moscow and St. Petersburg to Belarus, Ukraine, the Central Chernozem and Volga Regions.


Investment digest

Printed products